You can choose to either permanently delete the account or temporarily disable the account.
Here’s how to permanently delete your Instagram account
To delete your Instagram account, you must use the Instagram website to delete accounts. You cannot disable your account through the Instagram app
- Log in with your username and password.
- Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why do you delete the account? and enter your password. The option to delete the account appears only after selecting a reason in the menu.
- Click Permanently delete my account.
- If you choose to permanently delete your Instagram account, this cannot be reactivated. When you delete your account, your photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers will be deleted.
Here’s how to temporarily disable your Instagram account
- Log in to Instagram via a mobile browser or on a computer. You cannot disable your account through the Instagram app.
- Click the profile icon at the top right and select Edit profile.
- Scroll down and click Disable my account temporarily.
- Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why do you disable the account? and enter your password. The option to disable the account appears only after selecting a reason from the menu.
- Click Disable account temporarily.
- Temporarily disabling your Instagram account means taking a break from Instagram. Your profile, your photos, comments, and likes are hidden until you choose to re-enable it. You can reactivate your account at any time. To do this, simply log in with your username and password.